Calamity

Unless you’ve been in a remote cave somewhere in the Atlantis, you’ve probably heard about the disaster that was Ondoy.

I’ve only been around in this world for nearly twenty-two years, but this has got to be one of the, if not the sole, worst situations that happened in my lifetime.

On the weekend when Ondoy struck, I was at home. I remember constantly checking the window, waiting for any signs of the rain stopping. I had to go on duty that day you see, and after that was an event that I had been looking forward to for days. When the street outside our house started to flood, I knew I wasn’t going anywhere. Our area is pretty elevated, compared to most. If it’s starting to flood here, everywhere else must be submerged in water.

So I called the hospital, told them I couldn’t make it and spent the next few hours online (as per usual lol). Time crawled past, and I got more and more annoyed. The rain wasn’t stopping, hence the cancellation of plans, my internet went dead, followed soon after by a power outage. I’d forgotten to charge my phones and iPod, and there wasn’t enough light for me to even attempt to read. I had nothing to DO. Que horror!

While I was busy complaining over my petty desires, scenes from Noah’s Ark were happening elsewhere. Only when I saw the news roughly 24 hours later, when the power went back on, did I realize just how bad things had gotten. And just like that I felt selfish and shallow, and a bit guilty that the worst I’ve been through was ankle-high flood in my living room and boredom.

I’ll been doing some volunteer work, to counteract that guilt and repent for my selfish thoughts. Join me?:)

2 thoughts on “Calamity

  1. Pheelyp says:

    Let’s volunteer sa Ateneo! I say all other relief efforts being equal, we should go where there is lots of free, yummy food and equally free, yummy people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

