End of (Fixed) Term

So my five months working as a staff nurse in UST Hospital is almost up.

Admittedly, I wasn’t too thrilled at the idea of working as a nurse. With the unpredictable schedules, meager pay and a variety of people to get along with and serve, I don’t think you can blame me for wanting to find a better alternative. But a job’s a job, it’s only for five months and hey, it makes my parents happy to know that I’m working as a nurse, so I gave it a try anyway.

I’m a beginner nurse working with highly demanding VIPs. Obviously, my first few weeks were riddled with booboos. There were days when I dreaded going to duty, times when my self-esteem was less than zero and I had to drag myself out of bed to face our clients, moments that I was this close to wanting to lock myself in the bathroom and cry out my frustration. My closest friends and family knew how miserable I was with the job when I first started out.

Five months later, here I am, with less than 10 days to go, and I think I’m already missing it. I’ve learned to love most of my co-workers, even though I don’t really show it much. I am a relatively quiet co-staff to work with, and I have a tendency to get suplada when I’m stressed, so don’t think I made that much of an impression on everyone else. I am pretty sure I would not be missed the way they’d miss fashion maven Jel or bubbly, talkative Lauren, but I’m pretty sure I will miss them. I picked up so many lessons just by watching them work, and they had my back when I needed it.

Just a small part of the Del Rosario family

I’ve learned to work with difficult people, to suck it up, to tuck my pride away in a drawer, grit my teeth and smile, even though I desperately wanted to throw a tantrum. Now this is one life lesson that I am extremely proud of.

Most importantly, however, is that I’ve learned to love the work itself, putting the theoretical knowledge to use, serving the sick, no matter how lowly others think this job is or how “dirty” my hands get. There may be people who look at us like we’re no different from common househelp and show no gratitude at all, but most of the time, there are those who spare a few seconds to smile and say thank you, just to show that our efforts and hard work were appreciated. Those are the moments that make all the sweat and tears and unpaid OT hours worth it.

What am I doing after my contract ends? I might take foreign licensure exams. I could enroll for MA classes. I could try applying in other hospitals, or I could try and work as a private duty nurse again. I could go back to my first love and try out for writing gigs again. I could give up nursing altogether and find a new calling. I really have no idea yet.

For now, this is Staff Nurse Chen signing off.

Can you recommend career suggestions/job opportunities/rackets for me? E-mail me! silverwing015@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

