No rest for the wicked.

I was supposed to blog about my debut in the corporate world but the last two weeks have been extremely busy, I just didn’t have time to collect my thoughts.

Just two weeks ago, I was a prodigal nurse-racketeer whose main concern is to complete my PVP gear in World of Warcraft. I went to bed at five in the morning and woke up at noon, went to board game nights on weekends, racketed as an events/band manager and played RPGs the rest of the time. That feels like a whole lifetime away now.

Ohh carefree geeknights (actual photo)

Oh don’t get me wrong, I’m super happy with how things are going. Learning about a very different industry is fun for me. I like having an office, and a work e-mail and work phone…something of a separate identity, yet another layer I can add to my person. Plus, I think the writer in me likes being exposed to something completely new. More chances for inspiration.

I can’t even describe how awesome my team is. It’s a small, rather elite team of young go-getting professionals that sometimes I still wonder how on earth I got accepted. You would think that there would be so much internal cattiness and politics in such a competitive business, but somehow, I don’t sense any of that here. Here’s to hoping that that doesn’t change.

It’s just that I have so much to learn and so little time to do it.

A very close resemblance to how my head feels

Most of the stress is coming from the reviewing though. Studying the ins and outs of the business would be so much easier without the looming threat of my NCLEX exam. I have several ideas that I think I can work on, but at the moment, I can’t do my research and focus my full attention on my job because of that test. My brain doesn’t have time to breathe. My weekends are spent with review books, and even the hour-long commute to work is spent reading old college notes.

No, you may not, go back to your seat.

HOO BOY I can’t wait until Feb is over.

On the upside though…It’s pay weekend! I am so getting myself new shoes.

2 thoughts on “No rest for the wicked.

Leave a Reply

