Back to Blogging and Hand Cream Capsule Reviews

It’s been years since I posted blogs in a consistent manner. Lately though, I’ve had a sudden urge to get back into it. Maybe it’s because my job involves a lot of digital communication so it makes me want to explore it further on a personal level. Maybe it’s because of all the advancement in mobile productivity that enables me to blog straight from my hand phone. Maybe I’m jelly of all the PR packages active bloggers get and I want in on the action.

(That last bit is a joke. Don’t blog for the sole purpose of getting freebies, kids. It’s tacky.)

Whatever the case may be, I’m glad this old space of mine in the blogosphere is still here.

But I digress. Today I want to talk about skin care.

Those who know me personally would know how passionate I am now on the subject of skin care and delaying the signs of physical aging. There’s a lot of talk everywhere about products for the face and neck but body care seems to be lagging a bit behind.

I’ve been super into hand moisturizers lately, since I feel my hands are feeling tighter and drier than usual. I searched in The Project Vanity Community, a fairly newly formed Facebook group of Philippine-based beauty enthusiasts, for recommendations but didn’t find any and I was too lazy to trawl through other forums lol. So, I thought I’d go ahead and try a few things and share my thoughts online instead. 

This whole love for hand creams started with the leftmost one tube in the photo above. It’s from Marks and Spencer (cocoa butter variant), an old present from a colleague. I loved using it so much that it’s now thoroughly emptied. It wasn’t sticky, it dried quickly and didn’t leave a greasy film. It was everything I wanted in a hand cream for daytime use.

To replace the M&S tube, I picked up a few alternatives from the department store.

Skin Doc Heal with Jojoba Oil (2nd from left) is super cheap, priced less than Php 100 for a 60ml tube, which was why it was so appealing to me. However, it didn’t work for me at all; it left my hands still feeling tight and dry. I suppose it’s my fault for not reading the ingredients list before impulse buying, the alcohol content in this product is quite high. Hard pass.

Beauty Fix Honey Vanilla (3rd from left) fared better, as it was slightly more moisturizing than Skin Doc and it was also below the Php 100 price point. I found it too heavy for daytime use, though, especially since I work full time in an office and use my hands a lot. I feel like its weight causes it to take a while to dry down, and it leaves a slight greasy film on the skin which I really do not like. I’ve set it aside for nighttime use just because I feel bad for wanting to throw away a second tube, but will likely not repurchase.

Most expensive of the threesome is The Body Shop’s, which is half the size of both Skin Doc and Beauty Fix but more than twice the price at Php 235 for a 30ml tube. 😥 I love TBS and the brand’s advocacy, but DANG that price difference tho. So I was happy and relieved to find that it worked out the best for me! It was super moisturizing, non-sticky and non-greasy. I now leave this on my work desk, and I might get another tube for my purse. 

Skin Doc and Beauty Fix are available in Watson’s and SM Beauty Departments. The Body Shop is also available in some SM Beauty Departments.

So yeah, for anyone here who’s on the lookout for good hand creams, I hope this helps! If you have recommendations, I’d love to know also! 

Leave a Reply

