My Business Travel Beauty Staples

I’m extremely fortunate to have a job that gives me travel opportunities. While yes I spend most of my time in the office or in conferences, having that chance to interact with people I only ever get to speak to over e-mail or chat is something that I truly value.

Given that these moments of interaction are quite rare, and that I’m the resident ‘branding’ person, it goes without saying that appearances matter.

Through the years, I’ve come to accumulate a surprising number of cosmetics. When I’m on business travel however, there are certain products that I find myself picking up every single time. What these products have in common are that they are:

  • Versatile: I can create simple no-nonsense looks for business, and more glam brouhaha for play. Yes, this tita still goes out to party sometimes. (If I have to. Usually it’s really just wine and chika.)
  • Reliable: ride or die status, y’all. As in, most of these products are pretty much what I use on a daily basis, and I know that they work well with my combination skin.
  • Travel-friendly: they don’t take so much space, and their packaging doesn’t break easily. Like my spirit. (Baduy)

And so, here are my favorite travel beauty products:

Quick FX No-Shine Mattifier: This crazy inexpensive, siliconey primer smoothes out pores and helps keep my makeup stay intact until I finish the workday (including post-work socials!) with some minor retouching. It comes in handy 10g sachets or 30g tubes, and each one lasts a very long time.

Maybelline Dream Satin Skin: This base gives me the dewy, glowy look that I love, even after hours of wear. Granted, it makes me oil up a bit on the T-zone, but it’s nothing blotting paper can’t fix.

Zero Kuma Concealer: It’s creamy and full coverage, and can easily cover up dark circles brought about by post-work socials that ran a little too late. It has only three shades, but fortunately the shade 02 works well as under eye concealer and brightener on my NC-35 skin tone.

Innisfree No-Sebum Powder: is a super fine translucent powder that sets my base and keeps my face shine-free for majority of my work day.

In2It Two-Way Face Powder: I bring this along mainly for touch-ups. A few pats of this after blotting is a quick way to refresh my makeup.

Sleek Face Form in Light: A 3-in-1 product that I actually like! It has a natural looking contour, a Nars Orgasm-esque blush and a white gold highlighter that comes in a very compact case.

Tarte Tartelette In Bloom is the single most expensive item in my make up collection, and I do not regret the purchase one bit. This neutral palette has three shimmers and nine mattes that can easily take you from day to night. Plus…it doesn’t hurt that the solid packaging is farking gorgeous.

Tony Moly Lovely Eyebrow Pencil: A pigmented, blendable pencil on one end and a spoolie on the other for taming brow hairs, this can make my kilay well-groomed and presentable in no time. It’s retractable too, so no need to pack a separate sharpener.

Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil: I suck at liquid eyeliner so I prefer retractable pencil types. This one is pigmented and, true to its name, it lasts a good long while before it fades. The tip can get blunted after some use though, which I personally don’t mind, but it may not be ideal if you like very thin and precise lines.

Charm Retractable Brushes / EcoTools Essential Eye Set: Good brushes can make a significant impact on your make up game, but some of them can be too bulky / fussy to bring! Not these brushes though – they’re super compact and travel well.

I have quite a few lippies in my collection, but for business travel, I prefer pigmented yet comfortable formulas that won’t dry my lips out. Maybelline’s Creamy Mattes, ColourPop’s Ultra Satins and Happy Skin’s Moisturizing Lippies are just some of my favorite formulas for business travel. I like to bring at least two colors: one MLBB shade and another more playful shade.

Here’s a makeup look that I did for a work function, using all the products mentioned above. Not too bad, if I do say so myself.

This photo is taken 6 hours after application.

That’s it for my business travel beauty staples! I’d love to hear about yours, let me know what products you swear by in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

